Animation Songwriters & Composers in Tune at CTNX

CTNX 2019 will feature music content for the second time in the show’s 11-year history. The industry expo – and pinnacle event of the City of Burbank’s “Animation Week” – celebrates the arts of animation, bringing together artists and producers from a variety of related disciplines. In 2019 that includes a spotlight on the musicians behind the soundtracks to some of today’s top animated television shows.

Animated Music: The Making of Songs and Score for TV is a 45-minute conversation with songwriters and composers currently working on series for DreamWorks, Nickelodeon, Disney and Netflix. On the evening of Saturday, November 23, the panel will be playing tracks from their shows and talking through how the pieces came into existence from brief to final product.

Highlights of the session include:

  • Thanks to DreamWorks TV, artist Ryan Lofty will preview a soundtrack piece from Fast & Furious: Spy Racers, the Netflix original series streaming from December 26.
  • Emmy Award-winning composer Frederik Wiedmann will share the writing process behind the music of fantasy epic The Dragon Prince – including recording with a 40-piece orchestra – in celebration of season three streaming on Netflix November 22.
  • Grammy Award-winning songwriter Alex Geringas will be chatting his Emmy-nominated theme for All Hail King Julien and his work on contemporary blended scores.
  • Musical artist Brad Breeck will talk about his score for pop culture phenomenon Gravity Falls and hint at what’s to come for the much-hyped Nickelodeon series Glitch Techs.

Animated Music: The Making of Songs and Score for TV will take place Nov. 23 from 6-7 p.m. at CTNX Theatre 5 at the Marriott Burbank Airport.

The conversation will be moderated by Courtney Lofty, songwriter on an unannounced DreamWorks Animation series. Panelists are composer-songwriters Ryan Lofty (Fast and Furious: Spy Racers, Nickelodeon’s The Crystal Maze, Harvey Girls Forever!); Frederik Wiedmann (The Dragon Prince, All Hail King Julien, Miles from Tomorrowland); Alex Geringas (Disney Junior’s Chicken Squad, Trolls: The Beat Goes On!, Home: Adventures with Tip and Oh) and Brad Breeck (Glitch Techs, Gravity Falls, We Bare Bears, Voltron: Legendary Defender).

Tickets available online.